What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

I just sent Joe Bryant an email... (1 Viewer)

ComfortablyNumb

Footballguy
I sent the following e-mail to Joe. Does it make sense to anybody else but me?

Hi Joe,

Thanks for your reply; I appreciate your perspective. I'll try again to offer some purely constructive feedback, not because I enjoy argument or debate, but because I'd like to help my favorite resource, FBG, to become even better and more useful. And because, as an engineer, I just can't help trying to fix/improve things...

Surely you remember the movie City Slickers, with Billy Crystal and Jack Palance. You may recall one of the key plot lines was Jack Palance trying to teach Billy Crystal about "The ONE THING" that matters most? Well, in fantasy football, the "One Thing" is......

Projections.

It's the basis and bottom line for everything leading up to the draft. Nothing else really matters; without good projections, even awesome tools like the VBD app or Draft Dominator are practically useless. Since nobody has a foolproof crystal ball (not even Dodds), I believe FBG should do everything possible to maximize the reliability of your projections. A few of my suggestions:

1. Stop attempting to project the # of games played by a player. It's simply ludicrous to think you can predict whether Vick, McFadden, or Austin will play 12, 14, or any specific number of games. It would be MUCH more useful to project all players as if they're playing 16 games. We know who the injury/suspension risks are and will adjust our draft strategies accordingly. Including speculation on games missed severely skews the projections and makes comparison MORE DIFFICULT.