What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

Should the NFL stop testing for marijuana? (1 Viewer)

jtp1982

Footballguy
MLB doesn’t test for it.  Just doesn’t seem like a good enough reason for us to miss out on a career like Martavis Bryant’s.

I don’t see what’s in it for the league.  I work in the automotive field, we employ a lot of young men in their early and mid 20s.  Unless you wreck a car, we don’t really drug test you.  Reason is a lot of guys at that age smoke some weed, and it’s hard enough to recruit good talent without getting that picky.

The best on-field product possible is probably going to include a pothead or two in the league. Who cares?

Being in HR and averaging 3000+ hires/year, I know this has been a challenge for years and with certain states legalizing it only blurred the lines. While we haven't publicly announced it, we no longer test for it. 

The NFLPA isn't going to use the limited power they have to get this policy changed.
The owners don't see enough/any pressure from the fans to change it.

Players have a lot of "useless" rules to follow. Follow them and make hundreds of
thousands of $$$$. Be an idiot and get cut.

Should it be allowed? Yes, but what would the players give up to get it?

They don't have tell us all that they have stopped doing it, they should just stop and let the guys hit a blunt rather than pop much more harmful pills.

This is about owners maximizing the productivity of their labor. The perception persists among the rich, old, white men who own NFL teams that smoking pot makes players less motivated and less focused, and therefore less efficient laborers. To maximize their productivity, they forbid them from ingesting this recreational drug that is in no way a performance-enhancing substance.