What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

Culinary School and Food Industry Careers (1 Viewer)

RC94

Footballguy
I was wondering if anyone here has been to culinary school and what your thoughts and experiences are, not only in school but also as a professional in the food industry. I have been thinking about changing my career and I have always loved to cook, and love food in general, so I am considering culinary school.

I am not necessarily looking to get a job as a chef in a restaurant, though. I have an MBA in marketing and a management consulting background and I wouldn’t mind combining my business background with my culinary school education, so being a cook in a restaurant isn’t really my top choice for a long term career path. There are other options that sound more appealing to me, such as a more corporate job at a food company, culinary consulting company, or the Food Network, or maybe as a private chef for a really rich person. Also, due to getting an MBA, I already have school loans that still haven’t been fully paid so adding more debt is a concern.

I live in the NYC area so I will only be considering NYC schools. That mainly means The International Culinary Center (formerly the French Culinary Institute), The Institute of Culinary Education, and Le Cordon Bleu, but I am open to other ideas. Since I will be in so much debt after I graduate, the school with the best career services and that provides the best long term career options is my top choice. Based on my initial research that seems to be The International Culinary Center, but I would like to hear the thoughts of people who have been thru these programs and/or are professionals in the food industry.

Any thoughts and advice are welcome.