What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

I need help losing weight and getting back in shape (1 Viewer)

@ctsu

I would read up on the science here:  http://www.brianmac.co.uk/energy.htm

When training your body to take higher load at low reps you are not adding much mass (unless a complete novice lifter).  You are instead activating the ATP-CP pathways that basically allow your body to use the muscle you already did have, but never used more effectively.  

This is why you usually (for various reasons, many of them based in broscience) you see bodybuilders looking for mass training high reps varied weight in hypertrophy and power lifters training high weight low reps.  Most of what you "train" in power lifting is your brain.  Basically convincing it that you actually can, under stress lift something over your head relatively equal to your own body weight.

This last week was rough. I didn't go off the deep end but I certainly ate much more calories than my goals. I was visiting California- so travel by itself is a challenge. I was going there because my little brother was in a major motorcycle accident and there was also a lot of other stressful things going on (I am not a stress eater but it sure makes it hard to focus on eating healthy when it is still not a habit when other things are going on). And there are a number of places from my hometown area that I wanted to eat at since I haven't been back in 4 years. I didn't weigh myself but my guess is I am about the same as when I left. Now, I am back, so time to get focused again.