What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

Would you bid in on Zeke at $37.5M in FA Auction? (1 Viewer)

Cleat Spike

Footballguy
I took over an IDP/Salary Cap/Auction team this season.  $177M cap.  PPR, 40 man rosters, start 11 IDP, 7 Offensive players (5 rookie only taxis that only count 10% of cap).   I'm new to all these formats so I'm swimming!

7 of QB, RB 0-3, WR 0-4, TE 0-3, K (so 5 skill positions)

11 of DT 1-2, DE1-2, LB1-4, CB2-4, S1-3 

New owners got a 2 player amnesty (free drop w/ no penalties).  I was going to drop Lev Bell ($30M) and Luck ($31.5M) in amnesty anyways. 

I ended up trading Bell for the 1.02, T. Whitehead ($700k) and Earl Thomas ($1.2M).  I already own the 1.01, 2.01.  I ended up dropping Luck and Ivory and clearing $37M or so.

I now have $130M in cap room and the kicker is the team is so bad I have about 9-10 realistic playable players on my team.  

Zeke is the top FA and he's already bid up to $37.5M by last years Champ (who has Gurley, Freeman already) and no one is stepping in.  I'm saying I have TOO MANY holes to fill and may need to spread out my cash more and later.

I've have high bids on lower scale investment bids so far on Drake ($12M), Hogan ($4M), G. Tate ($5M), K. Mack ($9M)  and Brees ($8.5M), Shoebert ($6M).

Question, is this the right move or is locking Zeke down worth the hefty price.  Could be Zeke, Barkley and Guice maybe......then play small ball from there?

Or play it safe and just look past Zeke all together and build out my roster with many needed pieces.  Team is pretty bad right now

Hill, Brian CIN RB9.309 $2,471,4254

Hill, Jeremy NEP RB17.2011 $6,050,0002

Jones, Zay BUF WR70.6011 $6,019,7994

Matthews, Rishard TEN WR156.208 $1,220,8902

Nelson, J.J. ARI WR93.509 $707,8501