What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

Keeper Thoughts? (1 Viewer)

solorca

Footballguy
This is my first year playing in a keeper league, so I am looking for some thoughts on how you guys determine who to keep when the time comes to make your choices. In my specific league, we are only allowed to keep players for one season, at the value they were drafted the previous year. I have what I think is an obvious choice in Lesean McCoy as a first rounder, but I also have Marshawn Lynch (8th) and Demarco Murray (17th) as potential value picks, along with some WR choices (Harvin as a 7th, Roddy as a 2nd, Colston as a 5th).

I am not asking for thoughts on my team as I have plenty of time to make a decision before next season, and variables are sure to change. I'm simply looking for thoughts about what the "experts" of the Shark Pool think is the best option.

Do you keep the stud who will likely be a top 3 pick as a first rounder, or do you keep the late round picks who will probably end up being drafted as second or third rounders in most drafts.

In a league where you have multiple keepers like this, I think the best bet is to use one top pick, one mid round pick, and one late pick. What you outlined is simple and perfect...you would keep McCoy, Lynch, and Murray, be done with RB, and use rounds 2-7 to load up the rest of your roster. You also want to keep in mind that if you're coming out with great RB value late (using your 17th round Murray example), maybe it isn't worth using a 5th round keeper on a WR2. Grab a better receiver early on and use your saved 5th rounder at another position of need.