What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

Need a good kitchen knife. (1 Viewer)

jamny

Footballguy
One "must have" kitchen knife. Not looking for a set.

Something for both slicing meat and cutting up vegetables.

As a chef, I use a seven inch chef knife at home for almost everything. Mine is a very basic wood handle, fully forged and full tang. You being able to keep it sharp is more important than spending a bunch of money on an expensive knife.

wait... you've said many, many times before that you don't cook and won't ever cook. EVER.

:oldunsure:

what do you need the knife for, gb? 

wait... you've said many, many times before that you don't cook and won't ever cook. EVER.

:oldunsure:

what do you need the knife for, gb? 
Wrong poster. I love cooking and grilling and have been stepping it up over the past few months.

As a chef, I use a seven inch chef knife at home for almost everything. Mine is a very basic wood handle, fully forged and full tang. You being able to keep it sharp is more important than spending a bunch of money on an expensive knife.
At what restaurant (if not a private chef) are you a chef?  

I just bought a $4 knife sharpener thing on Amazon. I'm sure it's not the best but I was surprised how much it helped and brought life back to our knives. 

THIS!

I have a couple Henkels at home but my go to is a $10-20 white plastic handle restaurant supply chef knife that i run through a $9 accusharp before every use or two. Thing is about a decade old and only took it in once for a professional resharpening. Prob due for another one. 

I don't get the fancy knife trend... unnecessary IMO. 

So do you give much thought to weight or grip when deciding or just go with it and you'll get used to it?