What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

Free undergraduate admissions advice (1 Viewer)

Shirtless

Footballguy
I went to college at one of "those" schools. Then I worked as a teacher and college counselor in a public high school for two years, followed by working as a college counselor for a non-profit organization in more public high schools. After being laid off (thanks, education budget) I went to grad school in education at one of "those" schools.

While I was existing as a lower-level organism in grad school, I worked as an application reader for my school's office of undergraduate admissions. This does not mean I was an admissions counselor. I never went to schools, talked up high school counselors, etc. I just read applications and sat on committees.

Now I'm doing evaluation/research. I've tried to volunteer at local schools to help with college admissions, but responses have been pretty unenthusiastic. Pretty disappointing. Anyways, I figured if I can't do it in real life, I might as well try something online.

High school students (any here?) and parents of high school students are all fair game. Don't ask questions like "Does my kid have a chance at XYZ school?" or variations thereof, like "Is an XYZ score on the SAT/ACT good enough for XYZ school?" Also, don't ask questions about what race your child should select, or insert your own schitck about Affirmative Action.

Anyone else with relevant experience is more than welcome to also contribute.

How much weight is given to essays?